Faculty of Agriculture


The Faculty of Agriculture (FOA) erstwhile Government Agriculture College, Wadura Sopore, Kashmir was established in the year 1960. This has been a premier institution of the Northern India producing agriculture graduates who would cater to the needs of the farming community of the J&K State.

With the establishment of Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology (J&K) in 1982, this institution was transferred to meet the three pronged requirement of teaching, research and extension education activities. This institution provides the basic requirements in terms of qualified technical manpower in agriculture, horticulture, forestry and other allied departments of the State. The Faculty has produced approximately 4000 graduates from its inception till date. It is worth mentioning that most of the officers of Agriculture development and allied departments are the pass outs of this faculty. Prominently, all the heads of divisions and other scientific staff of both Agriculture Universities of State, are the products of this faculty. The students of this Faculty have shined at state/ national/ international level in academics as well as in research. They have also proved their efficiency in other sectors viz. administrative service/corporate sector and other related fields at state and national level. The graduates of this faculty are pursuing at postgraduate level in different universities of the country with good standing. Many graduates of this faculty have also qualified the national level examinations of junior Research Fellowship (JRF) conducted annually by Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR).