National Agricultural Higher Education Project - NAHEP (IDP SKUAST-K)


The Division of Agricultural Engineering was established in the year 1987 as one of the constituent division of the Faculty of Agriculture with the objective of teaching core courses at UG and PG level, conducting research in the field of Farm Power and Machinery, Soil and Water Engineering, Renewable Energy Sources, Post Harvest Engineering and to disseminate Agricultural Engineering technologies to farmer’s fields. It is located in main campus of the Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology of Kashmir which is situated at Shalimar, Srinagar and is about 30 km from Srinagar Airport and 15 km from Tourist Reception Centre, Srinagar. The undergraduate programme of B. Tech. (Agricultural Engineering) was started in 2006 in the Division of Agricultural Engineering under Faculty of Agriculture with an intake of 15 students. Subsequently, Division started awarding Master of Technology (Agricultural Engineering) in two disciplines viz. Soil and Water Engineering and Farm Machinery and Power Engineering in 2012 and 2014, respectively. The annual intake capacity for undergraduate programme increased gradually from 15 to 40 students in 2012 including ICAR quota admission. After consolidation of Faculties of the University, the Division of Agricultural Engineering has been associated with Faculty of Horticulture, Shalimar. The divsion of agricultural Engineering was upgraded to the status of College of Agricultural Engineering and Technology with six divisions in its ambit.